Elaphos and Elaphina
The hotel Elafos is situated at the foot of Mount Prophitis Ilias, next to the Byzantine monastery of the Prophet, 45km from the city of Rhodes and 30km from the airport. The hotel was built in 1929 under the Italian occupation , almost in the centre of the island, in a green environment with rare vegetation and was named Albergo del Cervo ( Hotel of the Deer)due to the well renowned and unique deer grazing in the forests all around this magnificent area. At a height of 780m, at the “heart” of this truly botanical garden, the Italians at the time aspired to accommodate the officers of the Italian army. The beautiful landscape does not remind in the least bit of a Greek island as its style has the “colour” of northern Europe. This impressive building stands out from far away for its architecture of the Alps style. In 1930, a large restaurant was added to it with a spacious veranda, a tennis court and a dancing floor. The unprecedented success in compiling all these buildings led in 1932 to the extension of a completely new annexation – the Elafina part- which contains only rooms. This grand building has been used as a hotel ever since, attracting visitors from all over the world, who wish to see and admire the particular identity of the place.
|Opening Hours||Mon to Sun 24/7 (summer period)|
|General Information phone||(+30) 22460 22280|
|Address||Profitis Ilias, West Rhodes|
|How to get there||Taxi, Bus, Car, Moto, Bicycle|